Our Division and its Districts

Contact Capesthorne Division Commissioner

Capesthorne Division covers the towns and surrounding areas of Alderley Edge, Chelford, Goostrey, Handforth, Knutsford, Mobberley, Prestbury and Wilmslow. It takes its name from Capesthorne Hall at Siddington, near Macclesfield. The Hall and its grounds are a beautiful Cheshire tourist attraction which has also been the home of the Bromley Davenport family since 1726.

There are four Districts, Alderley Edge, Handforth, Jodrell and Wilmslow, which between them have five Senior Section Units, 15 Guide Units, 22 Brownie Units and 15 Rainbow Units. There are also two Trefoil Guilds.

Click on the image to see an enlargement.

The Districts are:

  • Alderley Edge has two Rainbow Units, eight Brownie Units, three Guide Units and a Senior Section Unit.
  • Handforth has three Rainbow Units, three Brownie Units, three Guide Units and a Senior Section Unit.
  • Jodrell has seven Rainbow Units, seven Brownie Units, five Guide Units and two Senior Section Units.
  • Wilmslow has three Rainbow Units, four Brownie Units, four Guide Units and a Senior Section Unit.

The Units are run by teams of volunteer Guiders, Young Leaders and adult helpers who provide a wide and varied programme of indoor and outdoor guiding activities including camps and holidays both at home and abroad.